Wednesday, 4 January 2012

Brave Hearts and Smelly Fingers

Military historians and fishmongers everywhere get pretty excited when you mention The Order of the Fish. The fact that it's been awarded only twice since records began gives it an almost legendary status. It was last given to Mr Stanislav Pekrov in 1916 for piscatorial services far beyond the call of duty.
'Stanislav Pekrov & The Order of the Fish'
acrylics on paper 

Before that, way back in 1588, the honour was bestowed upon the enigmatic sea-faring fish merchant, Archibald Henry Hawthorne, possibly the first of the Famous Fighting Fishmongers that saw action during the Anglo-Spanish Wars. 
'Fish Vision'
acrylics & digital paint/processing

No comments:

Post a Comment